Hi, I'm a newbie. Although I resisted for months, I was given a BB by my company, and though it pains me (a little) to say so, I like it.

I have an 8700c on AT&T.

My question is this: how does the BB "know" that it's being holstered? When I put it into the holster, it automatically darkens the screen and locks itself, and switches to "holster mode" as far as alerts, etc. are concerned. So how does it work?

It's like magic!

Seriously, the reason I ask is, if I buy an aftermarket holster (I want one without a belt swivel - I just want a protective leather case), will the BB "recognize" it?

Thanks in advance,

D.B.
    08-12-08 06:55 PM
    There is a magnet inside the holster which puts the Blackberry into standby.
    08-12-08 06:56 PM
    Ahh...

So do the aftermarket holsters also have the magic magnet?
    08-12-08 06:58 PM
    Ahh...

So do the aftermarket holsters also have the magic magnet?
    It depends. Most holsters do, it should say one way or the other in the description. Maybe post which one you're thinking of and people can let you know?

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-12-08 07:03 PM
    Welcome to crackberry.com
    08-12-08 11:52 PM
    Welcome, Dharma!
    08-12-08 11:59 PM
    welcome to the addiction! I have the leather blackberry holster with the swivel clip. actually I have 3 one in pink, black and brown.
    https://forums.crackberry.com/e?link...token=F1SZkVmX
    08-13-08 12:37 AM
    Hi,
    Can the "holster mode" settings be changed? i.e. ring instead of vibrate.
    08-13-08 11:37 AM
    Yes. On most if not all Blackberries (I'm familiar with the 7130e and the 8330) will let you customize the "in holster" and "out of holster" settings (ring only, vibrate only, or both) for all phone, calendar, email, etc. alerts.
    08-14-08 09:14 PM
    welcome to CB!
    08-15-08 12:39 AM
    welcome to cb
    08-16-08 01:30 AM
    Welcome to Crackberry.

08-16-08 09:20 AM