Hi,

I'm brand new to BlackBerry. The last phone I bought was a few years back, an LG Arena. Horrible device, it didn't even work well as a phone. But I liked it because I could plug it into my Amiga computer and it came up as a mass storage device.

But it simply couldn't handle email, so I got a work issued Nokia Lumia 520. Now, I despise Microsoft with a passion, both as a company and their products, saying that it was an ok phone if you like an interface from the 80s. But I hated that it, like Apple, was a black box that required me to go through their awful proprietary software to access my own device. (I understand WP 8 addressed this, but still...)

The final straw was the phone failing to recognise the charger, so I decided to BYOD. Shopping around, the BlackBerry Z10 caught my eye. For me, like most consumers, BlackBerrys were for corporate warriors, as shown in the British cartoon strip Alex. In fact, BlackBerry was, before we switched to the Nokia, our company's standard issue phone (I wasn't in management then, so I never had one).

My only regret has been buying it off the Net, which has proven to be the worst online shopping experience ever, but once I got the Z10, it was great fun to use. I had no trouble installing the Amazon store app, and I was running Android apps within a day.

It's garnered a few oohs and aahs at work, not least from our IT person who used to set up our old BBs, and had never seen BB10 before. (And I didn't even really need her, setup was so easy)

Our company is a broadcaster, and I have been able to access our Flash based online viewer, which isn't even possible with iOS.

Little disappointed the Z10 was also a black box until I added an SD card, this should have been made clearer. Sorry, I have zero interest in BlackBerry Link. A true smart phone should not require proprietary software to do anything; the only reason Winpple do it is to push their other products.