Hey everyone,

Looks like this is the place where I make the obligatory "Hi, I'm new here" post.

I've been on Verizon for several years now because my family is originally from a rural area and Verizon has the best nationwide coverage. Now, as a busy graduate student, I both need to and like to keep myself organized - notes, calendars, contacts, email, voice, and whatever else I might need. I've done this well enough up to now, but in the last several months I became sick of hauling around an 8GB iPod Touch 1G plus an older LG flip phone; the utility of both devices is limited, and for a while I chafed at the knowledge that I could not get an iPhone like I really wanted to. I wanted just ONE device to pack around. (I know that probably sounds like heresy to you, but bear with me.) I'm on contract with Verizon and I'm due for an upgrade soon, so I was thinking about dropping Verizon and going to AT&T.

What really changed my mind is the horror stories I started to hear about the iPhone - dropped calls, unreliable network, slower speeds than on Verizon, etc. I don't mean to sound like I'm bagging hard on the iPhone and AT&T, but if I'm going to invest in a phone, it needs to be able to fulfill its primary function more or less without flaw, especially since I'm a grad student who needs to squeeze value from every dollar. A phone isn't much of a phone if it isn't reliable, and it seems to me that I would have a good chance of having quite a few problems if I were to go out and buy an iPhone. My office mate has a basic AT&T candybar phone and he confirmed that he's had problems with AT&T, dropped calls, and the like, so that settled the matter for me - I'd stick with Verizon.