Hello all - I'm a potential Crackberry newbie...

Hoping for some direction to push me off the fence. I've been a Treo650 user for 2 years, and I am considering moving over to the 8830 on the Verizon network...

I'm fond of the 650 and especially appreciate the PULL technology from VersaMail that allows me to have email from both personal (Yahoo / Gmail) and Work (not BES) delivered to me only when I ask for it ---- which for me means when I am NOT in the office.

I not excited about having to manage work email on my BB while I'm in the office and have Outlook open, or to have work email streaming through to me at 1am on a Saturday night...

I hear so many good things about BB in general, I need to understand if this one major issue described above can be managed. If so, I'M IN... If not, well - let's cross that bridge when we get there.

Let the advice begin
    07-11-07 02:15 PM
    Hey! Glad you're thinking about converting to the Crackberry cult (jk )...I'm on Verizon and I'm using an 8830...I haven't used the Treo stuff much, but I had a Pocket PC with Verizon before I switched to my Crackberry...

(Crackberry geniuses correct me if I'm wrong) but I'm pretty sure, at least with Verizon, that you can set your e-mail to check simply when you want it to...I'm pretty sure that's possible on a Crackberry...I know I had that option when I was on my Audiovox XV6700 Pocket PC...

I was amazed at how much better the BBs are compared to other PDAs...I wish I had switched over years ago!
    07-11-07 02:39 PM
    With BlackBerry's email come in, virtually instantly, regardless! BUT, if you're using a POP3 (PULL) account (and it's not being forwarded to your BlackBerry email address) it would be delivered every 15 minutes, or so...

Except for GMail / Yahoo and in some cases Hotmail, they are instant, since they are PUSH accounts...
    07-11-07 02:42 PM
    Navilyn,