Hello! My name is Kevin (hence the regrettably cheesy username) and I'm quite the newbie when it comes to Blackberrys. I've been using the same Samsung Slider phone for the past four years and well, it's time to upgrade.

So after doing a bit of research, basic stuff really, I've decided to choose a Blackberry as my next mobile pal and that it's the perfect phone for me. I know there are going to be a few new models RIM is launching Q4 of this year so it will probably one of them.

So the ones I know of are the Bold and the Javelin, but is the latter even going to AT&T this year? Anyways before I decide on the two, I have some really basic questions to ask.

1. Is Gmail compatible with Blackberries?
    2. What exactly do you do with your Blackberry email address? Is it just like normal email address?
    3. How detailed are the Calenders? Day/Week/Month/Time/etc.
    4. Are they still worth using as a casual/consumer phone with little need (but still used) email capabilities?

Sorry if they are basic/stupid questions. I really am new to Blackberries. Any and all advice for a new (soon to be) Blackberry user would be extremely appreciated!

Thanks for your time!
    08-18-08 08:16 PM
    Hi and welcome to CB

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-18-08 08:20 PM
    you will love the bb wich ever you get just make sure its the right one that will suite you and to answer ur questions 1.yes
    2.i have verizon and they give you a vzw.blackberry.net wich im sure all carriers do but you can use it as an alternate
    3.everything that you mention and you can sync ur gmail calnder if ya have one
    4.yes but as the bb grows on u ....u will see that your useing just about all the features
    as we all here are adicted u soon will be lollol
    08-18-08 08:23 PM