I'm akurah, 24, from California. Geeky girl and all. I do quality assurance for software, so I've got some experience troubleshooting devices. That makes the following story slightly more amusing.

My first foray into "smartphones" was the Sidekick II. I adored it, but it had crappy reception, and eventually was retired for a standard candybar phone. This was... god, years ago.

At the beginning of this year, I went and got myself a Sidekick Slide (despite the salesman really pushing the Curve--god I wish I had listened to him!). It had problems reading the microSD card (amazingly, no poweroff problem that the sliding mechanism was notorious for). I swapped it for the Sidekick LX. I liked it quite a bit (would almost say loved it), but for one irritating problem.

The. Bluetooth. Refused. To. Work.

Don't get me wrong. It'd pair. It'd even do calls. But the sound was horrid, and the sound would cut in and out so frequently and so badly it couldn't have been just technology being fussy. This would even occur if I held the Sidekick mere inches from the headset. I ended up going through THREE LX phones, and I tested no less than THREE bluetooth headsets (both on the LX and on a Motorola Razr, where they worked flawlessly). Same problem, every time. (and more amusingly, I'm apparently the only soul in the entire world who had this problem with the LX)