Hey anyone here in or around Newport News or Norfolk area? We are looking into moving to Virginia and I'm trying to gather information on different areas. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-10-08 09:20 PM
    08-10-08 09:55 PM
    Im in Virginia, but not that part.
    08-10-08 09:56 PM
    **disclaimer**
    **please take this info with a grain of salt as I am not an expert, just a citizen of the area& these are just my observations-someone who's lived here longer may correct me if I have incorrect information**
    I live in Franklin, which is rural south of the areas you mention.
    I moved with my wife & son here from L.A. CA a couple of years ago & am still adjusting. We really like the change of pace, but the summer is pretty humid.
    There are good & bad areas like anywhere else. Newport News is on what they call the penninsula area. Norfolk is the main central point of the Hampton Roads area, TV stations are all based in Norfolk.
    The Norfolk city & penninsula area is hugely Military with bases in Norfolk & on the penninsula & Norfollk also has one of the largest ports in the country for imports/exports.
    Chesapeake is just south of Norfolk & seems like mostly middle class area.
    VA Beach is south of the areas just mentioned-nice beach & a big tourist & spring break destination. Keep going south of the NC border & you'll hit the outer banks area-surfer's paradise, kind of a SoCal vibe-also a nice vacation destination.
    If you go west of Norfolk, toward Suffolk-you get into the rural areas the more west you go.
    North of Newport News is WIlliamsburg & Jamestown with intact historical buildings & settlements. Both are historical parks & working tourist attractions. I highly recommend a visit to these places as they will give you a lot of insight to American History.