I'm an American Soldier stationed in Kuwait and I was looking into getting an unlocked Blackberry and some sort of prepaid SIM card with a data plan to BBM my friends and family back home (whether through an American or Kuwaiti provider). All I want to use it for is BBM. No calls. Do you have any suggestions? I've been looking everywhere for an affordable option with no luck. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Phil DeLong and Eli_B like this.
    07-13-11 02:12 PM
    I'm an American Soldier stationed in Kuwait and I was looking into getting an unlocked Blackberry and some sort of prepaid SIM card with a data plan to BBM my friends and family back home (whether through an American or Kuwaiti provider). All I want to use it for is BBM. No calls. Do you have any suggestions? I've been looking everywhere for an affordable option with no luck. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    First off, thank you for your service.

Found a telecom called Viva Kuwait that offers prepaid Blackberry Service:

BlackBerry - viva.com.kw

Looks like it is 14 Dinar, or $50 per 30 days. Gives you e-mail, messenger and browser. Other than that I doubt you'll find a US based pre-paid with good deals for overseas.

Can't speak for the quality of that carrier, but it sounds like this will give you what you need
    gabriel2088 likes this.
    07-13-11 02:55 PM
    I am not an American nor living in Kuwait, none the less, thank you for your service. I am currently living in the UAE so I can slightly imagine what the temperature is like where you are right now. I honestly don't know how you can survive. Salutations to you.
    gabriel2088 likes this.
    07-13-11 05:47 PM
    Hello.

If all you want to use is BBM, then you can opt for the LITE Package from Zain.

Welcome to Zain :: Kuwait

It's about 8 KWD a month and available on Prepaid.
    07-14-11 12:01 AM