I have tried to find the answer to my question(s) but cannot ... my apologies if this has been explained before.

I am not on BES. My BB is a Torch 9860 on OS 7.1.

I have several POP3 email addresses/accounts set up on my laptop (Windows 7, Outlook 2010). I only sync Calendar and Contacts. So as to be sure I do not damage the data on my laptop it is on Outlook that I note appointments and new contacts with all syncing from the laptop to the device ... not brave enough to allow two-way syncing having had a nightmare experience some years ago.

In Outlook I call my email accounts:

Company01 Work
    Company02 Work
    Company03 Work
    My Name Work
    My Name Private
    My Name Genealogy
    My Name Web

I work as a consultant for several different companies as well as directly for some clients on my own account.

In Outlook I have just one Calendar on which I note all appointments categorising them Work or Private etc ... I might have three meetings in one day with three different hats on so I prefer the simplicity of one "diary". I also have one Contact List. Some of the contacts therein will be private but I might also be in touch with these same people when working for Company01 and also with Company03, say.

So I do not consider either my Calendar or my Contact list to be attached to one particular email - for my purposes the data is general.

However I have noticed that when I sync my BB feels it has to associate this data with a particular email address. For example, currently the "default placement" for my Calendar is "My Name Private" and for the Contact List is "Company02 Work".

- My first question is "WHY?"

When I go back to Outlook I cannot find these associations exist.