Hey, im new to blackberrys and i got my blackberry messenger set up today. The only problem is everyone else seems to have a "unavalible" option on their blackberry along with a few other status's. My blackberry only has Avalible and Buisy? Is there nothing i can do to stop people sending me messages when im not using it, as i know theres no sign off for blackberry messenger.

Also will leaving blackberry messenger logged in and running in the background use my data plan? I have a data plan but unfortunatly it isnt unlimited and i do use it for other things quite a lot so i dont want to go over it due to blackberry messenger not having a log out option.

I have a blackberry 9700 bold on vodafone and i have all the new updates for it.

Any help would be great
    Thanks
    09-04-10 01:17 PM
    there is no way to log off the bbm. No way to stop people from sending messages either, that's the way bbm was made. You can just put it on silent and get to them when you get a chance.
    09-04-10 04:16 PM
    GO to BBM options and disable notifications. You won't be bothered until you log in. Make sure to uncheck the integrate with email/messages. This will stop the notifications in the messages folder.
    09-04-10 04:36 PM
    I think that BBM uses an very small amount of your data plan.Anyway, I found also this,very interesting:
    1. 1 bit is just 0 or 1. The ASCII standard uses 8 bits (1 byte) to represent a character. If your plan is charged per KiloByte, then you get around 1000 characters per kilobyte.