So I'm fairly new to Blackberry and after my iPhone suddenly died two months ago, I decided to get the BB Torch. I used to have a Pearl two years ago and didn't really like it. Anyway, I've never used BBM and I'm not sure what the advantage to BBM is versus just texting someone. Only a selet few of my friends use BB, my husband and in-laws all use iPhone. If someone could point out the major differences between texting and BBM I'd be very grateful.

- Heather

Sent from my BlackBerry Torch.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-10-10 08:34 AM
    IMO- not much...
    A few perks:
    -no character limit (that i know of): texts have 140 or so characters before the text gets broken up into multiple messages. somewhere along the tubes when sending multiple part texts, they seem to get sent out of order (from my personal experience)
    -if you travel abroad, you can chat over bbm via wifi with no extra charges vs roaming texting fees
    -status messages, able to hit do not disturb if you're doing something and wish to not be messaged.
    -be able to tell if your recipient has received/read the message (a bit of a double edged sword if you receive messages from obsessive people and just want to ignore them lol)
    -they seem to send faster than texts, more reliable - or you can at least see if your message failed to be delivered

those are a few off the top of my head. fellow hardcore blackberriers might be able to list a few more. otherwise, IMO, bbm is a glorified text message system. Its synonymous to instant messaging clients like msn or yahoo but you're always online, and it's built right into your phone.

Hope you're enjoying your torch so far though!
    11-10-10 08:41 AM