I never really had a battery problem until right after i installed the newest OS for my Tour. Right after i installed it i also joined three BBM groups which i have never done before either. My battery then started draining rapidly(about 13-14% Average Discharge Rate, sometimes more) thinking i installed the OS wrong i wiped my device and reinstalled the OS, everything seemed fine afterwards. Then i rejoined my BBM groups and almost immediately i could tell the battery was draining much faster. Left all three groups and havent had a problem with the battery. Is this a common problem with BBM groups? If so, is there a fix?
    06-26-10 03:14 PM
    didn't know anyone used BB Groups... it was hyped for about a month or two then everyone that was part of the groups I was on disappeared. but yeah it does drain the battery, that was one of the complaints many users had.
    06-26-10 05:15 PM
    I was part of a full BBM group for a short period of time, but I was forced to leave due to the fact that it down right destroyed my battery life. I'm quite regularly away from home for a day or two at a time, so I need a device that can go a couple of days without a charge. Being part of a BBM group therefore wasn't a practicality, as it would drain my battery life to 50% from full in a couple of hours due to the never ending stream of messages.
    06-26-10 05:38 PM
    yea BBM groups do hog battery. they are constantly updating and i do find they are a drain.
    06-26-10 08:32 PM
    depends on how active they are really...

i'm on 4 groups and usually 1 of them is active most often so i get regular battery life.
    06-26-10 09:02 PM
    Just wanted to let you all know that BBM Groups did kill my battery. I was in one group - wasn't even that active. Today is my first full day without being in a group. My battery life on my 9630 is about 50% better.

Maybe BB will fix this down the road.
    08-13-10 02:24 PM
    Yes. Groups eat battery life.