Let me start by saying that I'm a newbie: I've only had my Blackberry for two days, I'm sure there are hundreds of similar posts here, and I fully expect to get flamed for this. But I've Googled this for about an hour, I've literally cried in frustration, and I'm just hoping that someone here will take pity on me and help me out.

I just got a Blackberry Tour 9630, my first smartphone. I set up Gmail, Facebook, BB Messenger, etc. two days ago. When I installed the Blackberry Desktop Manager today and plugged in my Blackberry, it prompted me to update the device software. I did so, and now my BB Messenger is missing. Someone successfully sent me a BB Messenger message (he said it was delivered on his end), and my LED indicator began to blink red, but I cannot for the life of me find the icon anywhere. I looked in the main menu, under Applications, under Instant Messaging, under Downloads, literally everywhere it could possibly be. It's also not showing up as an option when I customize what the left and right soft keys do.

I already tried a soft reset (alt+right shift+del), and when it refreshed, there was still no icon. When I try to reinstall BB Messenger from BB App World, it says the application already exists (version 5.0.0.57).

My device software is v4.7.1.53 (Platform 4.1.0.65).

EDIT: Okay, when I go to Options>Advanced Options>Applications, I see the following:

BB Messenger 5.0.0.57
    BB Messenger 4.7.0

So I've definitely got two versions installed on the device (maybe it upgraded during the device update when I had it connected to Blackberry Desktop Manager?), but I still can't figure out how to get the icon to show up anywhere that's actually accessible. Please help me. I don't even care if you make fun of me at this point; I just want my freakin' icon back.

Thanks so much,
    Erica, stupid n00b of the day
    04-07-10 06:40 PM