I know there are threads for how to install apps like instagram, etc. from google play, but I'm getting my Q10 tomorrow and I'm totally confused on how to do it.

Is there a simple tutorial that I can understand? With the new 10.2, do you need a computer to download apps, or can you do it directly from your phone. I'm fed up with email on my iphone and I'm making the switch, but I want to get some of my old apps back.

Sorry - I know this is dumb, I just can't figure out what to do. I'm a complete novice.

Thanks.
    01-21-14 06:09 PM
    01-21-14 06:16 PM
    There are 4 ways that I can think of:

1. Copy a url from Google Play website and paste that link into an apk-downloader site like Evozi.
    2. Do same as above, but on PC, then transfer downloaded APK file from PC to BB.
    3. Sideload an app called Snap, a native BB10 Google Play client.
    4. Via your BB Browser, download one of many Android app stores, such as Amazon Appstore, Mobogenie, 1Mobile, Good e-Reader, and the list goes on and on.

After you download any app, you'll be given an Install button to tap. Install and... Voila you have the Android app on your device! That's it.
    BergerKing likes this.
    01-21-14 06:16 PM
    It's not dumb at all.

If you're getting a Q10 tomorrow, and it's not a company phone on Balance, I strongly recommend downloading the 10.2.1.1925 autoloader for the Q10, and install it before you even set up the phone.

Once you've got that in place, do your device setup, do a little reading up on how to sideload, and find Snap. This app allows you to browse Google Play and download apps from there. Snap needs to be sideloaded (because it's not offered in BlackBerry World), but once you have it on board it lets you just download and install Android apps easily.

The hardest part of this entire exercise is just getting Snap on board.
    BergerKing and Elite1 like this.
    01-21-14 06:18 PM