Okay this is my first post so I am hoping it is okay that I let this cat outta the bag. I have been making and sending ringtones to my phone for free for over a year. The web site is myphonezoo.com it is 100% free. Just sign up download a song you like on to your pc the crop the song and send a text to your phone with the link to the ota download, or email the link. Anyway it is really easy check the web site out! Hope this helps!!
    07-29-09 11:43 PM
    WOW- You make it sound so easy.

Hopefully, it's legit and not SPAM.

Sorry I'm a Newbie too.

THANKS
    07-30-09 12:13 PM
    I've been using Media Monkey (free) to do this up until I got my G1. Android has an app (RingDroid - also free) where you can chop-up an MP3 on the device, and set it as a ringtone.

Anybody know if there's an app for the BB that will do this?

BTW - Welcome to CB ^ ^
    07-30-09 12:16 PM
    Ever heard of TONETHIS?
    07-30-09 12:18 PM
    I like doing them myself. Gets a more personal touch and it's something I enjoy. I use a free and a shareware program to get them done. I use Audacity (free download) to cut the MP3 to the desired length. Then I use MP3 Wav Converter from American Shareware to make sure the bitrate is optimized. The way I do this is to convert the chopped MP3 to WAV then convert back to MP3 using the conversion settings to make it 40Kbps 44.1KHz Stereo. That makes a small file size without sacrificing too much in quality.

The awesome part about audacity is that I can record anything playing over my computer, so if I want a line from a movie I play the movie and record live with Audacity.

I have seen web tools that do all this, but they are never clear if your ringtone is then saved and used in other places, kinda takes away the originality aspect for me.
    08-05-09 10:46 PM