I'm brand new to the BB world and never heard of otterbox until seeing a thread where someone mentioned it. They look like something from another planet, but very protective!! So, this may sound stupid, but do they provide enough protection to forego insurance (VZW + the $5.99)? I know I want to use a skin, and this looks like a heavy-duty version..... although maybe bulky?Any opinions from someone who has one/has tried one would be great. Thanks!
    07-08-09 04:08 PM
    I know Otterbox is very bulky. Have heard great things, though. What line of work are you in?
    07-08-09 04:18 PM
    I'd still have insurance even with it cause if you lose the phone and all it means nothing and you're out $480
    07-08-09 04:25 PM
    How much is insurance?
    07-08-09 04:26 PM
    The outerbox cases are designed for individuals working in the construction business i feel..However anyone could use the case who really wants superior protection.. They are a bit bulky and will take away the beauty of the tour...I don't think it could be substituted for Verizons insurance on the device because though it provides exceptional protection, if you loss your phone, your out of luck...The insurance is a must on an expensive device like this..
    07-08-09 04:30 PM
    I have had Otterbox's for my 8830 World and for the Curve's. It is an incrediblely well designed case. It is a bit bulky but when it comes to drops, talking in a rain storm, dust ... it is the ultimate. Would I refrain from getting insurance ??? I have never got insurance before but I have never got a bb that's worth so much like the Tour will be. I just might look into it.

The Otterbox is a nice case. It covers all types of protection but yes it does make it heavier and bulkier so the question you need to ask yourself is do I need or want to have this level of protection. I personally say yes but that's my choice
    07-08-09 05:16 PM