Just a heads up -

If you apply a skin with a screen protector, and need to remove the skin, it's easy to damage the screen!

I botched the install of an Invisible Shield and needed to remove it. All went well until I began to remove it from the actual screen. I was careful to hold the screen down with one hand while pulling the skin off very carefully with the other. Nothing seemed to travel too far or move in a bad way, but now the click mechanism is damaged

The screen now doesn't bounce back properly from a click, and tends to jam in the clicked-down position, especially after it's been in the holster (vertical). So any pulling stresses on the screen easily damage the mechanism.

It's insured, and I'm an electronics tech, so I'm probably going to open it up to see if there's something bent that I can put back, but skinners beware!
    12-29-08 08:14 PM
    Stay away from those things and get a 3 pack of screen protectors from Verizon for 10 bucks.
    12-29-08 08:20 PM
    Take a look at my post here. I had the same problem with two brand new Storms but I thought it was because of the screen protectors but I think it was cause I pushed hard to get the bubbles out.

"http://forums.crackberry.com/f135/ultimate-official-tips-tricks-only-100612/index44.html#post1284268"
    Last edited by xkaliguyx; 12-30-08 at 01:17 AM.
    12-29-08 09:17 PM
    Take a look at my post here. I had the same problem with two brand new Storms but I thought it was because of the screen protectors but I think it was cause I pushed hard to get the bubbles out.

"http://forums.crackberry.com/f135/ultimate-official-tips-tricks-only-100612/index44.html#post1284268"
    Interesting. You have an earlier LCD backplate than mine...

Here is my backplate:
    Attachment 8852

No sign that any adhesive plastic riser was ever on there. No residue, and there's nothing loose in the phone.
    Also notice the later date code (49-08) and the later part number.