I thought I'd warn anyone who didn't already know about the poor quality of Otterbox defender case for Bold 9700.

I recently bought a 9700 bold and needed a heavy duty case as I'm a police officer and my phone needs to be protected and I wanted a belt clip. Anyways, did alot of research and determined that the otterbox defender series case was what I needed.

I bought it, was very happy with it and then it broke. Ya, the "toughest" case out there broke. I quickly learned that I was not alone after a quick google and that this seemed to be the way the case was designed, to break. The little plastic tab that is the retaining piece on the side cracked and the retention power went to about 50%, so my phone was constantly falling out onto the floor, mud, concrete, stairs etc....fantastic! a case that actually hurt my phone. It was safer in my pocket. The tab finally broke off today; anout a month and a half after I bought it.

So I toss out a warning. DO your homework. Not all otterbox products are created equally, and the bold 9700 defender series case is GARBAGE.

Ya, they replaced it under warranty, but I'm tossing it. I can't be bothered to have my phone always falling out on the floor and having to replace it under warranty.

Buyer beware!

P.S. Great site, BB rules!
    09-28-10 10:02 PM
    You could try layering silicone soft cases (9700 case, iphone case on top of it with camera holes cut out with a knife) and it should make for some good protection. Or a hard on top of a soft one.

Just suggesting.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    09-28-10 10:08 PM