hey guys i am completely new to blackberry. this has to be the greatest site for blackberry users because i have only had my phone for about two days and im already running 4.5.77 on it. its sweet. anyways i found out how to use my phone as a modem through my macbook pro and everything runs great. i am just wondering if i am going to get charged for using this? to access i use the #777 like many others. i called sprint and they told me there was no way i could use my phone as a modem on my current plan. i am on a simply everything plan right now. because i dont enter a username or mobile number to get this to work on my mac i dont know if i will get charged for using it. i searched the forums and could not find anything on this. does anyone else use this option?
    thanks in advance!
    10-14-08 04:00 PM
    Do you have a data/broadband connect plan?
    10-14-08 06:29 PM
    If it's the same as Verizon, if you're not provisioned for modem tethering (which is extra for both carriers), then you dial the #777 and try to browse, you'll hit a "walled garden" website which will tell you what the charge will be and ask you to sign up for the access.
    10-14-08 06:40 PM
    paulk i just have a data plan that includes unlimited data, navigation, etc. its the "simply everything plan 450",look on sprints web site. its specifically states that you cant tether but i was able to do it. im guessing its not the same for verizon, i had read they blocked that somehow. thats why im really confused because they sprint rep told me i had no way of accessing it! by the way whats a broadband connect plan?
    10-14-08 10:26 PM
    r1, I am still confused as to how to use my 8830 as modem with my macbook. I also have Sprint and a data plan. Can you tell me exactly how to use my 8830 as a modem?
    Thanks.
    11-19-08 11:24 PM