02-26-09 01:15 AM
31 12
tools
    I'm currently using the Bold alongside my iBook G4 and I got ridiculously confused attempting to update my OS (partially because I am new to the BB community).
    Any help would be appreciated. The simpler, the better--I do work on a Mac after all.
    01-16-09 09:45 PM
    Install xp... Only way.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-16-09 11:27 PM
    Yep only way is to use windows
    01-16-09 11:52 PM
    I'm currently using the Bold alongside my iBook G4 and I got ridiculously confused attempting to update my OS (partially because I am new to the BB community).
    Any help would be appreciated. The simpler, the better--I do work on a Mac after all.
    Do you have "Wireless Upgrade" under Options - Advanced on your phone?
    01-17-09 08:11 AM
    No...

(gahhhh)
    01-20-09 11:20 AM
    Do you have "Wireless Upgrade" under Options - Advanced on your phone?
    That only does "official" upgrades...

iThink he's looking to do some "beta" upgrades?

Right?
    01-20-09 01:08 PM
    If by he you mean she?

...umm I have no clue. What's the difference between an "official" upgrade and a "beta" upgrade.

I just want to do a "normal" upgrade...gahh.
    01-20-09 05:16 PM
    1). The Mac cannot upgrade a BlackBerry and probably never will be able to. Get to a PC.

2). The difference between a beta and official (read, your carrier released) OS is that on some phones, the Bold is one, you can upgrade wirelessly but only for carrier released OSs. If your phone will not upgrade wirelessly then you have the latest current OS from your carrier already on your phone.

3). beta OSs are often more "fun" as they contain the latest fixes and updates that RIM (who make BlackBerrys) are testing.