hey, i'm new to this whole, blackberry craze, and i need some help!

is there a way of getting itunes media files onto my 8130? do i have to convert them into a different media file? (is that even possible!?) I've heard of pocketmac, is that what i should be using?!

thanks for your help
    12-22-07 03:51 PM
    PocketMac doesn't have the media feature to transfer iTunes files. You might want to try Missing Sync.

Using iTunes files on your 8130 depends on the file itself. If you purchased the files from iTunes, you almost always have to burn them to a CD and re-rip them in iTunes. Unless the files is DRM free.

What I do on my 8300 is just use the mass storage mode and simply drag and drop the music files I need. The 8300 will play AAC (MP4) files so I'm pretty certain that 8130 won't have an trouble playing AAC files.
    12-22-07 04:20 PM
    but missing sync is the only way to do this?
    12-22-07 04:24 PM
    Missing Sync is one way. It has a feature that will use your iTunes playlist to play music. Well, non-DRM files.

I don't use Missing Sync. I just use "Mass Storage Mode" to copy the iTunes files (non-DRM) over to the media card on my Curve. I just can't justify paying $ (although it's not much) for this feature and since I don't do any heavy duty syncing. And I use PocketMac to sync my address book and calendar.

The iTunes files on your Mac will be in two formats. There's .m4p and .m4a The .m4p is a DRM protected files (iTune purchased files) and will not play on your Pearl or any other BB. The .m4a file is the non-DRM file and will play on your Pearl without having to convert it to MP3. I wouldn't convert it to MP3 anyway since MP4 is a better quality file.

So, you can use Missing Sync or Mass Storage Mode to get music on your Pearl.

Hope this helps.
    Last edited by onepoonis; 12-22-07 at 04:39 PM.
    12-22-07 04:36 PM
    another, most likely dumb question, the mass storage mode? what exactly is that?
    12-22-07 04:43 PM