hey everyone, i am somewhat new to the Blackberry world (my current storm is my first) and i have been using PocketMac, the blackberry software that you download from the Blackberry website. And i also noticed that i couldnt use desktop manager, is that a PC only application? because if it is, they definitely need to upgrade PocketMac to be able to do the same things (like load applications, which if it can do this i have not figured out how).

Similarly, if Desktop Manager is only for pc is there 3rd party software that i can download to replace desktop manager?
    02-02-09 03:28 PM
    Missing sync-$40
    02-03-09 06:41 AM
    Missing sync-$40
    I would wait until version 2 of Missing Sync is released. The current version simply doesn't work properly with many devices.
    02-03-09 07:21 AM
    I recommend Google Sync - its free and OTA. Add Spanning Sync ($12?) if you want to use ICal. It is the best solution 99% of the time.
    02-03-09 12:54 PM
    +1 on Google Sync, at least for Calendar (it doesn't handle things like loading apps and backups, obviously, so it isn't a real desktop manager). I have only been using it for about a week and so far it has been solid.

Now that Google supports full Caldav, you don't need Spanning Sync if you are running 10.5.2 (or maybe .3?). Just create a Google calendar, upload a copy of your current iCal calendar(s) to it, then download the free collaboration tool from Google. Run that tool and it takes care of the rest (except for downloading the sync app to your blackberry, of course).

Like all other Mac/Blackberry sync tools, it isn't without problems, but so far mine have been relatively minor with Google. For example, there have been times that I made a change to an appointment on my BB and on the next sync it reverted back to the original. But, the following sync fixed it, giving me back the changes I had made. I don't understand that, but it still kicks the crap out of other syncing solutions I have tried.