Hi friends, i've been using blackberries for a couple of years - love them. But i'm getting tired and frustrated with windows and looking to switch to mac. Would be grateful if could get some help.

1. I'm informed that the desktop manager will not work on mac - is that correct? If so, then what's the best way to sync?

2. Installing apps via desktop manager was quite easy. How do i do that with a mac..?

Thank you very much for the help - appreciate.
    02-19-09 08:23 AM
    MAC is by far a superiour computing system. With that being said, RIM and BB are absolutely no help/support for MAC owners. They have yet to develop and release a desktop mgr for MACs. Rather, they subcontract out to a third party vendor (Pocketmac) to supply free "software" for syncing. However, a word of caution, you get what you pay for. Pocketmac is horrible, it seldom works right and is full of software bugs that screw up arbitraily.

Others on here use a software called "Missing Sync". Now you have to pay like $40 for it, but supposedly it works "ok". I myself will not pay for extra software that should have been supplied for free like it is with Windows.

As you can guess, I am biased b/c I am extremely annoid that I was lied to by Verizon as well as RIM that the BB was 100% compatible with my MAC.

RIM is supposedily "releasing" a desktop mgr "sometime" in 2009, but there is no guarantee and they claim its been in the works since 2004. So, don't hold your breath.
    02-19-09 08:40 AM
    All I can say is, if I had to chose between my Mac and my Blackberry, I would be using a new phone. Mac computers will win every time. . . which is why RIM better get its act together.

Quickly.
    02-19-09 08:47 AM
    I switched to MAC in January 2008 and have not looked back. I can't believe it took me this long to realize how superior the MAC is over Windows.

If I didn't have to switch carriers to ATT, and Verizon could sell the Iphone I would buy one in a minute.