So I am new to both the Blackberry (8320) and Mac. Can I sync these two together and if so, are there lots of problems or is it pretty smooth? What software should I use? What kind of things can you sync and what kind of things can you not sync?

I have downloaded PocketMac 4.1.25 but haven't installed it yet.

Thanks in advance!
    01-24-09 02:44 AM
    Welcome to CB and by your "handle" if you are one of our troops protecting our freedom-thank you, thank you, thank you!
    You can sync only your contact info, iCal, ITunes, iPhoto with PM. To back up or upgrade/download an official OS release or a leaked OS you will need a PC to run BB DM. If you have a new Mac with OS X you can load BB DM on windows Xp (I have this) or Vista using Boot Camp or a software virtual program like VMware (my preference) or Parallels. If PM doesn't work for you there is Missing Sync, which some Mac users prefer but it costs $40. You can google Missing Sync for the website. Good luck and again welcome to CB!
    01-24-09 12:01 PM
    I would definitely have to recommend the MissingSync over PocketMac. When I first got my Berry I read far too many posts and articles on the problems with PocketMac.

I agree with fcortese, until RIM releases Desktop Manager for mac you will need Windows to run DM for OS updates and backups.
    01-26-09 03:02 PM
    What can missingsync do that PocketMac cannot? Why should I pay $40 for something that can do the same thing for free?
    01-27-09 01:16 AM
    Both programs have their positives and negatives... why not try the freebee one.. and see if you are happy.

WHen it does not do anything you wish.. go try the one you have to pay for..

hopefully then you will be happy with the results..

If that does not work..

then too bad for you.. seriously..not much after that..

RIM does not support OS X. THIS IS THE OFFICIAL PARTY LINE.

So then that means .. yes you are gonna have to dust off the OL' PC from the basement. and load up DM.