09-01-08 09:51 AM
98 123 ...
tools
    (I imagine that this would apply to any other beta release)

So, Im pretty new to this whole Blackberry thing, and its safe to say that its proving to be challenging, in a good way though.

That aside, whats the best method for upgrading my bb, should I fully wipe the os and upgrade (if so how do i do that, is that with the JDSK?)

Or just do it with the previous installation on?
    07-10-08 09:43 AM
    If you are not familiar with Blackberry, I would suggest you get to know your phone a little better before upgrading, and upgrading to a beta nonetheless. It can help if you wipe the device then install the OS, however, this is a beta, and there WILL be problems.
    07-10-08 09:54 AM
    Oh no, in the past few days Ive come to know this phone very very well lol. Upgrading has not been a problem, I think my .52 was corrupted though.

The above is the reason why I even bothered posting. I had a whole long post on bricking your berry, but lots of other people beat me to it
    07-10-08 10:17 AM
    This has been detailed a number of times, but here goes :

1) Backup you device with desktop manager
    2) Backup your third party applications (http://forums.crackberry.com/f52/upd...rograms-46800/)
    3) Download the desired device OS (from whatever your source may be)
    4) Install the OS to your PC
    5) Remove all old OSes! Delete the vendor.xml file
    6) Wipe your handheld (JL_cmdr or from device)
    7) Optimize the OS to your liking by editing .alx files or editing the Java folder (http://forums.crackberry.com/f3/how-...-memory-34633/)
    8) Load the OS with AppLoader (through DesktopManager : BlackBerry - Desktop Software - BlackBerry Desktop Software at BlackBerry.com)
    9) Restore Third Party Apps
    10) Restore from Backup in Step 1

I will add links to other threads for some steps...

(Please refer to post #22 for an edited variation of this process!) (Added Link for Desktop Manager as of 7/14/08)