Hello everyone. I'm thinking about buying myself a Blackberry Curve in the next few weeks. I've never owned a Blackberry or any kind of smart phone before. I was originally looking at the iPhone, but the AT&T plans are too expensive and the iPhone has some major drawbacks, such as the battery being soldered in! Not to mention, the Blackberry has been around much longer, and it's definitely more widely used.

I currently have a Moto RAZR with Alltel. It's a great phone, but I'm totally bored with it. I want something that can keep my entertained while the wife is shopping at Sephora, you know what I mean?

So, since I'm a newbie, I do have a couple of questions:

1. Can the Blackberry Curve stream audio from the Internet? I like to listen to MP3 streams and Windows Media streams; can it stream either one of those?

2. Can it use IMAP over SSL?

3. What video file types can the Curve play?

4. How is the web browser on it?

Yeah, I'm a definite newbie

The main problem I have is that I live in a high rise, so I'm pretty limited on providers. The only two providers that seem to work in my building are Alltel and AT&T. Unfortunately, Verizon just bought Alltel so I'm not sure how that's going to work out.

I'm leaning toward Sprint, because they have the lowest prices plans, the most features, and they have this mini cell tower for the home that uses your broadband connection. Pretty sweet, but I wonder how well it works?

Also the T-Mobile Curve is Hot Spot capable, so that might be an option as well. But it costs extra, of course

I'd stay with Alltel and get the Curve they have, but I don't know how the Verizon buyout will affect my service.

Anyway, thanks in advance for any ideas or advice you might have.

-Dragasoni-
    09-18-08 11:17 AM