I am a new member so if my question sounds stupid, it is because I am still learning. I am a Verizon customer and I am considering switching to AT&t next month for the Blackberry Curve. My contract with Verizon expires the middle of the month and I was planning on purchasing the 8830 but I think that I would rather have the Curve. My question is this. Since AT&T is the new Cingular, do you expect their network to improve and challenge Verizon as the number 1 network in the US. The only reason that I would stay with Verizon is b/c of their network and I have always heard that you want to choose the best network and then choose a phone, never a good phone for an average network. I would really appreciate some feedback. Thanks.
    05-26-07 05:03 PM
    I would not count on seeing any changes to the Cingular/AT&T network aside from further rolling out 3G technology on the network. You may want to check with other AT&T customers in your area and see how their network performance compares to your experience with Verizon.
    05-26-07 05:10 PM
    Does anyone know if Verizon or AT&T has quicker download or upload times? I know it takes my Treo forever to load a webpage. I don't understand what you mean by 3G?
    05-26-07 05:22 PM
    I don't want to give you an incorrect answer, so this is what Wikipedia says 3G is.
    05-26-07 05:30 PM
    Thanks for the link. I didn't get much of that. Is 3G limited to either Verizon or ATT or can it operate on both CDMA and GSM networks? Thanks for your help.
    05-26-07 05:37 PM
    Just GSM, as far as I know. I don't know if anyone in the US other than AT&T has even rolled it out yet.
    05-26-07 05:41 PM
    I don't think the network will be any better. My reason for saying this?