Unfortunately while I am quite proficient in emailing I am a total newbie in the world of text messaging but it appears to be the only way to efficiently contact my college age children. On my old Motorola phone I sorta knew how to send a text message (though I probably only sent half a dozen in my life) but with my BB I'm at a loss and the more I read the more confused I get as to what I need to do to send a phone to phone text message - not email as my daughter's only email account is through MySpace yada yada yada.

So - Neither kid has a BB so I know that BB Messenger is not an option. Do I need some sort of separate software program?

Someone please take pity on a middle aged account that technology has by passed and teach me the basics of text messaging from a BB Curve so that I can once again have at least minimal contact with the younger generation.

Thank you in advance - laurah
    07-07-07 10:05 AM
    That's it? What's all this Aim, ICQ, AOL etc etc stuff? Or is that something different?

Of course with the great and powerful AT&T/Cingular I now must pay extra for text messages which they in their wisdom have determined are not "data" though the same information in an email would be considered "data".

To use a word from "back in my day" - I often feel as if I am Cingular's "tool".
    07-07-07 10:59 AM
    Hi Laurah,
    As a fellow middle aged person with college student kids, I know where you coming from in terms of this technology.

This is how I understand it, and if I'm off base I'm sure someone will correct me.