I see that I can get a Bold 9700 for free with 2 yr contract from AT&T. But I feel that Sprint has deals which better suit my (currently unemployed) bank account. They do NOT, however, offer the 9700.

AT&T charges $175 to cancel a contract. SOOooo ...
    1st - Is it worth it to get the phone from ATT, cancel for $175 and unlock the phone (if possible???) and go to sprint?

2nd - Is it even possible to transfer a device. I have learned how one can unlock a 9700 (GSM/SIM card), but I think ATT and Sprint are CDMA? Can you 'unlock' a CDMA phone or is it just a transfer of service? I'm currently month to month with Sprint, not locked in, so I'm wondering if I can get a deal from them (or wait for the curve2? I really like the 9700).

I'm a total newb, but need to get my game face on. I have an interview soon with a company for executive level support at Disney, and the only thing that's holding me back is BB/iphone/pda support. I have some exposure, but am up to my ears in tech notes on your site. I LOVE the community and feel welcome in asking my quetion(s).

Sorry this is so long, and sorry I'm not yet up to speed on the technical side.

I will be

Thanks in advance to all you crack-heads
    Last edited by shawnubis; 12-08-09 at 02:35 PM.
    12-08-09 02:13 PM
    ATT is GSM and Sprint is CDMA. The 9700 will NOT work on Sprint Network.
    That is it.

Sorry to destroy your dream
    Last edited by Briard; 12-08-09 at 02:44 PM.
    12-08-09 02:42 PM
    Even if they were compatible sprint will under no circumstances activate a phone that is not sprint branded.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-08-09 03:21 PM
    Man, tough decision. I keep seeing the flak about the Tour, so I'm sort of against gatting one. I don't see much of a choice if I want to stick with Sprint. I don't love Sprint, but their plans seem to include more for less. Just don't like their phones
    12-08-09 03:24 PM