Part of this may be the phones in use, but good ears (not mine, unfortunately) may be able to detect the difference between GSM & CDMA - GSM does provide a more natural sound, because it isn't fully digital across the entire transmission. This is one of the GSM advantages, but one that most folks may never notice.
    If no one ever notices, then how exactly is it an advantage?
    04-08-09 06:02 AM
    Hey All
    I really wouldn't go messing with Twin. I work in the telecomm field.
    I can tell you this from his response in a thread I started. He knows
    his stuff. Very knowledgeable. Dudes um an upper level telecomm
    engineer. Hey may not admit it but I can tell that he is. I dare say
    design; plus I have a feeling he has been doing this for quite some time.
    Nice post; with pics and a very reputable JD Power survey to back it
    up.
    04-08-09 11:51 AM
    If no one ever notices, then how exactly is it an advantage?
    It I to those with sensitive hearing. Most may never notice because they don't have the opportunity to listen back-to-back in similar environments. Even with my hearing deficiencies, if I were to take say an 8330 and make a call on a CDMA network and then make the same call on a 8320 through a GSM network, I might detect a fuller sound or more "warmth" to the tone. Neither matches the sound we used to get with copper MaBell lines, using a Western Electric telephone set, though.

In reality, what happens is most folks attribute call sound differences to the individual connection or the phone being used.

I pointed it out primarily because some feel it is a GSM advantage, even if it is a slight one.
    Nice post; with pics and a very reputable JD Power survey to back it
    up.
    Thanks - although when Power doesn't back up someone's view, the talking point quickly becomes one about how slanted they are.