Why does AT&T usually get better phones before Verizon (if ever) does?

I travel for a living and have had both carriers. AT&T is an awesome service to have in highly populated areas (both for the service and the amenities you get). But close to 90% of our country is considered "rural" (which is where most of my travels take me) and AT&T is severely lacking in these areas. Now, I don't know the subscriber count for each service but from what I've seen and heard in my travels, Verizon has a larger customer base than AT&T does. I would absolutely LOVE to have the torch (having both that large of a screen AND a keypad makes me giddy just thinking about it!) but there's NO WAY I would go back to AT&T from Verizon, considering all the dead spots I had back when I was with AT&T. So, if I want the most up to date BB without switching I get the "Style"? Should have been named the "No-Style" as no self-respecting BB user would be seen carrying such a horrible looking phone.
    09-06-10 08:50 PM
    Verizon usually never gets phones that AT&T does. AT&T is a GSM carrier and VZW is CDMA. GSM phones don't work on a CDMA networks. Companies have to make completely different devices for CDMA networks.

VZW has the Storm and a large selection of Android devices that AT&T doesn't offer.

AT&T received the Torch first because they worked with RIM on designing it.
    Last edited by Spiral_ouT; 09-06-10 at 09:10 PM.
    09-06-10 09:02 PM
    It's all subjective...

I don't like the Torch at all, slider phones are dumb, and no self-respecting BB user would be seen with that. But I also agree that the BlackBerry flip thing is dumb too.

I love my Storm, and Att doesn't have that. I prefer the 96XX form over the 9700, and I hate the iPhone. If I were to get an Android phone it would be the Incredible, Att's Android offerings are pathetic compared to Verizon. So I think that Verizon gets the better phones compared to Att.