The first thing I want too say is I have no dog in any fight. I am merely reporting my real world experience so that nobody else gets burned like me.

I am an overseas contractor. Before I deployed to Iraq I got myself a Verizon World Edition Blackberry. Since then I have been paying almost $200 a month for unlimited date service

Upon arrival in Iraq the BB unit seemed to work fine. The problems began 3 weeks ago when I left Iraq. Upon arrival in Amman the BB had no service. A day llater, upon arrival in Paris, the BB did not have service. The same day, upon arrival in Malaga, the BB had no service. This went on for a week. Then back to Amman, where upon arrival the BB had no service. 5 days llater, when I arrived at the Dead Sea suddenly the BB started working again (interestingly I got one of those welcome to Israel mesages even though I was in Jordan). The moment I left the Dead Sea, once again, no service. Arrival in Amman, no service.

Upon return to Iraq, no service.

Verizon was simply unable to fix whatever the problem was. At first they tried to blame the BB unit but the fact that the unit worked at the Dead Sea that 1-day makes that a disingenuous argument (to any booger eating moron at least).

Ultimately I had to terminate the service. Verizon was never able to fix the problem. And clearly the problem was with Verizon and not the BB unit. Every tiime they told me to go too thhis screen or that screen, the screens all said the same thing. NO SERVICE.

The word has spread very quickly here in Iraq. Verizon is not a BB service provider that you can rely upon here. And certainly when you are operating in an environment where your very life might depend upon your comms.

I highly recommend anybody considering a global type BB service go to another provider. Verizon's Global Edition simply does not deliver. And all I have now is esentially a $200+ alarm clock.

Avoid Verizon like the plague.

The above is simply fact.
    03-20-09 09:35 AM