As I am new to Blackberry and smartphones in general I just discovered tethering recently. I have a Curve 8900 and was wondering if tethering is an easy process. From what I understand it is generally frowned upon by carriers. Is this true for TMo? Also, is there a data limit that I would be in danger of exceeding? I would like to avoid any exorbitant charges on my bill if possible. Anything else you could tell me would be appreciated. Thanks.
    10-28-09 11:30 AM
    You can tether on tmobile for free on other carriers you have to pay.... You can call tmobile and they can help you setting it up on ur phone. Or you can do a google search for it

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-28-09 12:24 PM
    I tether on my fiance's Pearl which is on the T-Mobile network. It isn't as fast as when I tethered with my Bold on AT&T, but it works. She has never had an scary warnings or extra charges or anything.
    10-28-09 12:52 PM
    T-Mobile does allow tethering on their data plans (like BB) so you shouldn't worry. If you look on their site, they don't have any add-ons for data tethering. That's because it's included.

The only data limit T-Mobile has it 10GB...which I highly doubt you'll reach. If you did, they would just slow your service for the rest of the month. No extra charges.

10-28-09 01:52 PM
    The new BlackBerry Desktop Manager 5.0 has an option to setup tethering for you. It works great.

10-29-09 04:06 AM
    The new BlackBerry Desktop Manager 5.0 has an option to setup tethering for you. It works great.

I couldn't find this option on DM 5.0. Where is it located?
    10-29-09 09:31 AM
    I sell T-Mo and I can also confirm there are no tethering charges for T-Mo as long as you have the data pack already.

Other carriers charge you $30 a month.. It's not super-fast or anything, but it'll do for you in a pinch. Just don't expect to be watching youtube or downloading movies off it..
    10-29-09 09:36 AM