I finally "nutted up" and installed a 5.0.0.419 OS on my new Tour - I chose the just released Alltel version.

My question is - When (if!) Sprint finally gets around to releasing THEIR version, do I need to install it?

So far, knock on wood, everything seems fine - just like the 5.0 that was on the Curve 8530 that I returned and exchanged for my Tour. Will the Sprint version be different?

I'm very new to doing anything like this to my phone so I don't know what the differences would be. I've read that the various .419's out there are pretty much all the same, just have different Vendor files.
    02-06-10 02:30 PM
    If Sprint releases .419 then there's no need to reinstall it.

I HOPE they instead release something newer, maybe a .43X or higher build.
    02-06-10 03:52 PM
    does the sprint nav work wit it?
    02-06-10 07:48 PM
    It seems to, at least after a little impromptu test. I will test it more thoroughly tomorrow. I didn't try Sprint TV though because I never use that anyway. Knock on wood - everything I've tried works. Quick Pull doesn't, but that's a Quick Pull issue with OS 5 in general.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    02-06-10 09:16 PM
    they make a quick pull specifically for the 5.0 os, have you tried that?
    02-06-10 10:07 PM
    Oh sweet! Is it fairly new? When I got the Curve 8530 I looked and couldn't find a Quick Pull for 5.0

I'll go find it. Thanks.
    02-07-10 09:01 AM
    Did u run the leaked .419 prior... Do u see a diff?

Some say the radio is bttr in the official;...
    thanks
    02-07-10 11:17 AM
    The only negative that I can see is the battery life is definitely worse. Its not horrible, but I can definitely tell a difference. Don't think its enough to make me go back, but I'll see how it goes this week and make my decision later this week.

I had a Hero before and its not nearly as bad as that!

Sprint Nav definitely works as does the gps stuff in the LifeInPocket app.