Hi, I'm joel. I'm new to blackberry. I'm hoping that some one could help me. The other day I won a blackberry 8830 from ebay. The phone condition was not mint, it has some scratches and even a dent. But the phone works great. Is there any place for GSM sim card, because I live in Indonesia now. Do you think I should just sell it? because the phone is still in US.
    Thanks a lot everyone!
    10-27-08 02:09 AM
    Yes it has a SIM card slot. Provided that your carrier operates on the same frequency as the 8830, it will work fine.
    10-27-08 02:19 AM
    If its a Verizon phone then no. Verizon is CMDA.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    10-27-08 02:28 AM
    If its a Verizon phone then no. Verizon is CMDA.
    The 8830 is the World Edition and despite the fact that is on VZW, it does have
    a SIM slot and the SIM portion can be unlocked.
    10-27-08 02:35 AM
    The 8830 is the World Edition and despite the fact that is on VZW, it does have
    a SIM slot and the SIM portion can be unlocked.
    This is true! It does have a sim, just to the left of the SD card slot if you're looking at it. However, to unlock it to use it on other carriers, I'm told VZW won't do it unless you paid full retail for it. However, I think that you'll be able to get the contacts off the SIM from another provider and copy them to the address book on the 8830WE, if that's what you're trying to do.
    10-27-08 08:44 AM
    I just bought a BB Pearl from eBay too, that is stamped with the Verizon logo on the outer shell! The ad stated it was an "unlocked" phone... so should be easy to activate on any network! (Provided it has a sim card slot)

I 100% guarantee, it DOES NOT have a sim card slot that is visible to the naked eye! I have had techs look at this phone and short of taking it completely apart to look for the sim card slot, it does not have one!

So, all you people saying yes, it has a slot... NO, IT DOES NOT!!!!!