Hi everyone,
    I am wondering if there any Iusacell Blackberry users around here. I really want to buy a BB and it seems that their plans are the best for the money but I haven't used their network in 6 years or so... I've been using Telcel and while I don't have any specific complaints, their data plans are much more expensive and they do have the Bold, but I think it will set me back more than I want to spend, so I would be looking to get a Curve... anyway, so, does anyone have opinions, experiences about Iusacell's service?
    Thanks
    10-03-08 12:12 PM
    Hi!.

I've been using a BB Pearl 8130 in Iusacell for 6 months now. I always wanted a Blackberry, but thought they were too big for me, so when the Pearl was out, I fell in love.

It is the first smartphone I have had, so I wanted to really take advantage of the data capabilities. So I decided for Iusacell because all their plans have unlimited data (starting from $199 per month) and because my family and closest friends have Iusacell, so I take advantage of the included 1000 minutes per month to the same company, national.

The main reason people aren't in Iusacell is because of network coverage. You had Iusacell 6 years ago, and I can tell you that it is very different now. When Unefon (Grupo Salinas) bought Iusacell, they had duplicated antennas all over Mexico, so they have replaced them, increasing their coverage significantly. I can say that Telcel wins the coverage race in the north, but in center and south Mexico, I have found much more coverage for Iusacell than for Telcel. I suggest you investigate the Iusacell coverage specifically for the area where you live and travel. At their website, they have a list of all towns and cities.

If you think the data connection is important for an smartphone, I suggest you go to Iusacell. They have 3G coverage in most of their network while Telcel's new 3G network is still very limited in coverage and speed.