hiya guys i am new to verizon and i know they set up thier phones alittle differnt that i am useto seeing. i know most regular verizon phones have 2 seperate bars for ev and 1x, but the blackberry only has 1 for both. i know that 1x is for txt and voice? and evdo is for every thing data related including txt. i would like to know if there is a way to seperate the services like the phones so i can see how much voice service i am getting because i am getting 2-3 bars of 1xev and i dropped a call in the kitchen but i am not sure if that is for both combined or just 1x?

hopfully not confuzing but its late haha thanks for any help

jason
    feel free to pin me and sorry for crappy spelling rough opening my eyes atm
    08-17-08 07:59 PM
    ON this device if you drop the EV service do to weak coverage, you will see the EV go away. 2 bars is a weak signal and if it drops below 2, then you risk dropping a call.

The EV happens in my house all the time, it is the building, I go outside and no problem

Although on the phone you want to see a 1X not 1x. 1x means no data.
    Last edited by lastraid; 08-17-08 at 09:39 PM.
    08-17-08 09:18 PM
    Oh ok at my house i get 2 bars (verizon skin out of 4) 1XEV and fluxuates 2 -3. seems like when it has 2 internet is really slow if it loads hehe :P
    08-18-08 04:17 AM
    Try updating your PRL (roaming list).

Call #228 and select option 2.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-18-08 06:34 AM
    Oops!

That should be *228

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-18-08 06:35 AM
    *22899 it and make it easier. The Curve out of the box has some reception issues that a full OTA reprogram usually fixes.
    08-18-08 08:20 AM