Just a thought, if the app gap is big on BB, and the general masses don't want to side load, download APK etc........

Why not enable Google Play to BB10, and drop BlackBerry world. Both Google and BlackBerry benefit, work out some revenue share.

Improve android runtime and off we go.(I'm not technical so assume this is possible)

I understand that a lot of developers have developed grt native apps, but every mobile sales person I talk to now, when buying a BlackBerry tells me, now you can download android apps, which seems to be a big plus over and above features of OS10 .

Just an idea, no offense intended to any developers.

Posted via CB10
    04-04-14 03:44 AM
    Maybe even create a blackberry edition of Google Play, call it Blackberry Play....

Posted via CB10
    04-04-14 03:50 AM
    Novel idea, but Google needs to access everything that you do. That's how they sell your information to advertisers.

When a forked version of Android came around by the name of Xiaomi many people praised the aesthetics of the phone, but every single one version had a glaring fault. That it needed gapps, and Google was not going to allow them (technically, but gapps is always installable later). On Xiaomi devices.

Second precedent, the Amazon Kindle models that utilised the forked Android model. Clearly Google isn't happy.

How do you suggest Google to be happy without even hurting BlackBerry services? If you can figure that out, and it actually works, the entire community can be happy for those who want gapps to work.

Posted via CB on BB10
    04-04-14 04:16 AM
    How about no. In order to access Google Play services OEM's have to meet the standards Google sets for Android, since BlackBerry is not using Android outside of a compatibility layer why should they have to meet Google's standards?