I'm new to the Blackberry scene, so naturally this question may come off as moronic. What's the difference between WiFi on Storm 2 and the regular internet on the original Storm? Obviously, WiFi is much better, but I'm curious as to why. Thanks.
    10-15-09 10:09 AM
    If you're somewhere and have poor signal but have access to wifi, you can switch to wifi and still have data access.
    10-15-09 10:13 AM
    Wifi is not necessarily better. The Storm 2 is better than the Storm 1 because it has wifi. Wifi is in addition to the cellular connection in the Storm 1. Wifi can be faster, although Verizon (and Vodafone) 3G network is pretty damn fast! Wifi can work inside buildings, a place where cellular connections sometimes have trouble. The benefit is that with cellular AND wifi, you get more options for internet access and speeds.
    10-15-09 10:13 AM
    I'm new to the Blackberry scene, so naturally this question may come off as moronic. What's the difference between WiFi on Storm 2 and the regular internet on the original Storm? Obviously, WiFi is much better, but I'm curious as to why. Thanks.
    If you're at home and have internet service via cable or DSL and have a wireless router/modem you can use that internet connection for the device. It is much quicker than standard 3G service. You can also use Hotspots at Starbucks, McDonalds, etc that offer Wifi. They are also offering Wifi on planes now. Bottom line is Wifi is much faster than regular 3G coverage.

Edit: Real World speeds: Verizon maxes out at 3.1 or 3.2 Mbps. AT&T is maxing out at 3.6Mbps. Depends on coverage area. REGARDLESS, Wifi is FASTER than either network. No contest.
    10-15-09 10:15 AM
    With the "regular internet" you would need to have a data plan for your phone, which can cost you $30.00 to $40.00 a month. You also need to have a cellular signal for it to work from.