Hi,

I'm new with blackberry and I have some questions about wifi.
    I have a blackberry curve 9360 qwerty.

First of all, I don't want a 3G connection, I pay for my internet with a hotspot near my house so I don't need 3G. In school there's also wifi.

But in the first week I got a message from my provider that said I used a lot of 3G, and all this time I thought I was using internet from my wi-fi connection.

So I turned off the 'Data services' and 'while Roaming' in the mobile settings so that this could not occur in the future because I don't want 3G costs.

But now the wifi does not work. The error says unable to connect to the internet, please try again later. if the problem persists please contact your service provider.

So do I have to turn on the 'data services' button? And how do I know that I'm not using 3G while this sign is on?

I saw on other discussions that you have to change your browser settings in 'Hotspot browser', but I didn't find this in the options of the browser.

Thank you guys
    11-16-11 01:15 PM
    You have to make sure WiFi is turned on and connected to the hotspot. If it is on and connected, your BlackBerry should use the WiFi whenever possible. Hope this helps!
    11-16-11 01:27 PM
    When you "turn off data" even if it is for Roaming, what you are turning off is the data service and NOT the radio transmitter.

When you turn off your data you eliminate all possibility of emails, web browsing and BBM for one or both of two reasons.

1). Your BlackBerry actually stops sending and receiving data. Phone calls and SMS texts will be fine.