I've been a Blackberry user since I first got my 8700, and I've cycled through several BlackBerry phones right to my current Q10. I've had only one stop in between, which was a miserable year spent with an HTC touchscreen, that I mostly wanted to throw across the room, because it was a frustrating and miserable typing experience. Using family and friends' Samsung and iPhones has been no more pleasant an experience than my old HTC. My question is this: aside from a superior user interface, great build quality, and a stunningly accurate keyboard, reviewers continually dismiss BlackBerry as "old school" or "old fashioned" BECAUSE of its keyboard. Why is there so little demand for an accurate typing experience among consumers? Granted, I'm a university professor who lives by the words I type, but is there really so small a value placed on accuracy and speed of typing?

Posted via CB10
    07-11-15 11:10 AM
    Most folks don't do lengthy text entry on their phones. They consume content. For which the bigger screen and all touch is more of a priority.

Yes they message, etc. But the virtual keyboards are OK for that.

Posted via the CrackBerry App for Android
    07-11-15 11:21 AM
    It's because its what feature phones (which are seen as old and outdated) would usually have. Most people now use full touch screens, so they think it's odd to see a company still build phones with a trait that most ancient phones had.
    07-11-15 12:25 PM
    I believe many have been convinced it's a either /or proposition, I also believe it's a false choice.

If I were given a touch input device that included a physical keyboard, why would I care if it didn't detract from the display screen size.
    I loved the design of the BlackBerry Q series, but that was the case (I needed more display, but in a mainstream form factor) .

But give me a wider screen with a 4.3- 4.5 display with a physical keyboard and I'm good. Give me the specs to support all functionality I desire and I'm perfect.