what is the difference between doing a soft reset with ALT+SHIFT+DEL and doing a battery pull does any of the two actually do anything different from each other or is it the exact same result?
    01-25-09 06:00 AM
    fingernails lol

I don't think there is any difference
    01-25-09 06:11 AM
    I'm no expert but I haven't noticed a difference. I prefer the easier way of not pulling the battery out.
    01-25-09 06:31 AM
    I notice a difference in memory.... I have more after a battery pull vs. Alt+Shift+Del

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-25-09 08:46 AM
    more memory free after a battery pull
    01-25-09 09:26 AM
    ... and both are completely unnecessary under normal
    circumstances. I used to be an inveterate battery puller (daily)
    but after testing several theories I have not reset my device,
    k/board or battery pull in more than a month.

Do a search for patrick.waugh's explanation of this issue and
    you'll understand that there is rarely, if ever, a need to do this.
    01-25-09 09:32 AM
    what is the difference between doing a soft reset with ALT+SHIFT+DEL and doing a battery pull does any of the two actually do anything different from each other or is it the exact same result?
    As a developer, this is what I believe to be the case:

The difference in BB lingo is that the battery pull is a "hard reset", and since it removes all power, it resets the device more completely. The details of the difference are a bit technical, but it is only rarely necessary. I have had to do it only twice, once due to some of our alpha software going fubar, the second from a situation which you might run into and so I will describe in more detail.