Nice to see real world folks saying the keyboard really is all it's cracked up to be.. my favorite line was at the end where he says he's always HAD to have a physical keyboard, but after 10 minutes on BB10 he's saying the touch screen might just be for him.. hoping I feel the same when I get to try it out!

Ran into a senior executive of Blackberry last night at the World Economic Forum in Davos and got a demonstration of the Blackberry 10.

Before I tell you about what I saw, a few caveats: I know little about RIMM's valuation or Apple's. I'm not a recommending a stock here. And, while I have been using a handheld for something like a decade, I'm no technology expert. (I think of myself as an advanced amateur.) But I have stuck with Blackberry and probably have to admit that I want the device to succeed. At the same time, I am a happy and committed iPad user, though I use it with a Bluetooth keyboard. Finally, the demonstration was brief, maybe 10 minutes. All I saw was the keypad and the browser. The device is the one with the virtual keypad, about as big as my son's Android phone. I'm told a model with a real keyboard will be introduced next.

That said, what I saw was impressive and fast. What I care about, as a reporter on the road a lot, is the keypad. I have tried and never cottoned to the iPhone keyboard. I often need to write lengthy stories on my handheld and that has kept me away from handhelds with virtual keyboards and, despite being made fun of repeatedly, kept me a loyal Blackberry user.