Greetings all,

First post here, and yes, I'm a newbie with questions unfortunately...

Right now, my mobile service is with Fido. After a long, long negotiation I managed to get the monthly package I always wanted. Almost.

My voice needs are well met, however I had this itch to get a data plan to get e-mail on the go, etc...

The Curve 8310 looked like a nice little phone, so I got that. However, as my luck would have it, my provider has completely dropped BB support. The most insulting part about it is that they still provide roaming for the likes of T-Mobile, but won't provide for their own clients. *groan*

So, from my understanding, these are my possible scenarios:
    • Voice, no data
      Keep my voice account, no data.
    • Voice + GPRS
      Basically, adding a non Blackberry data package to the mix, either using the phone as a modem or using third party apps to get to my mail.
    • Voice + BB, carrier switch
      Worst case scenario, would basically end up nearly tripling my bill.

Halp?!

Best case possible, I'd like to simply pay as I go for pop3 or something, but I'm guessing a BB plan is non negotiable since the device is made to work through RIM's VPN.

Can I at least use the phone as a phone?

Thanks, I'm guessing that this is asked quite a lot, but I can't seem to find anything.
    06-25-08 08:57 PM
    Yes you can still use your Blackberry as a phone, but without a BB plan youll be missing alot of the great things that the BB has to offer, your best solution would be option 3 really, if you just add GPRS you'll still be missing BIS and with that Push E-mail, also unless you get "real Unlimited" gprs plan your bill could end up really really high, in the end if it all comes down to money youll just have to think well through if all the extra expenses are really worth it.
    06-25-08 09:37 PM
    Pana is right. Really without data, there's no need to have a berry. None of the best features on the phone will work.