And that tell me one thing. It's a port. I've never once seen RIM build an OS from the ground up in terms of base functionality and support for a new device. All they do is take the same old wicker chair OS from another BB, edit and change some of the code around while leaving stuff behind causing continuing bugs down the line for that OS and put it on the new model. I'm no super coder, but when I used to write stuff, I would always write from the ground up for the specific application. Now I understand that you can't do that for each and every device, but RIM needs a skeletal build of an OS. A concrete build that's so basic it's just a perfected shell that they can use for each of their model builds. I don't think we're witnessing this type of development map. I hate to say it, but everyone laughs at manufactureres that make just one model of smartphone and don't offer 50 billion variants, but the benefit to that is that they can concentrate on perfecting the OS code. Ask any BB developer and they'll tell you why they've stopped writing BB apps. The OS's are so fragmented from build to build and from model to model it's almost impossible to write the app once and export it for each model and expect it to work as intended. They have to spend extra time tweeking each variant for each model they plan on the app supporting. That's a big red flag on just how stable and streamlined the BBOS is.
    Fragmentation is inevitable no matter what, a company cannot survive by making just one device, please don't quote Apple. Sooner or latter Apple will have to introduce another variant of iPhone otherwise they will be losing end because they will be catering to only a segment of people. As long as the growth curve if going up you are fine but when it peaks out there is no escape, look at Apple's PC line, iPod line and it is inevitable they will have to do the same with their iphone and ipad line too in the near future.