Ok I'm a huge newbie. I have had my phone a week. I have had one sucessfull sync and then tried again yesterday and got the error on my computer unable to read application data durning the load of my contacts. I uninstalled the desktop manager and reinstalled and are still getting the same error. I have searched the net endless and can't find anything. Can someone please help.?
    08-09-08 07:42 AM
    This is what worked for me:

(From blackberryforums /general-blackberry-discussion/7877-unable-read-application-data.html#post178324)

I corrected this issue by clearing the address book function (will work with tasks, calendar, etc) thorugh Backup and Restore/Advanced and retrying. This removed the corrupt databse and allowed it to synch without errors.
    So essentially, backup address book to computer -> delete address book from phone -> restore address book from backup.
    08-29-08 09:45 PM
    Just like to chime in and say this solution worked for me also.
    03-07-09 05:01 AM
    Worked for me also, after trying a variety of other things, including an "Inbox Repair" in Outlook, computer restart, Blackberry restart, etc. What finally worked was creating a fresh backup file using Blackberry Desktop Manager, Backup and Restore, then using the Advanced Options to delete the Address Book files from the Blackberry, then opening the fresh backup file and adding the Address Book back to the Blackberry. Next sync attempt worked like a charm.
    05-28-09 08:53 PM
    OMGosh, thank you so much! I am also a BB virgin and was pulling my hair out trying to figure this problem out... Your solution worked immediately!
    10-22-09 12:34 AM