So I got to play around with a blackberry for the first time the other day, and found that I really liked the experience, especially the trackpad. Over the last year or two I've used WP7, Android and iOS, and I'm very interested in getting a Bold 9900. Is it worth getting one?

As a big user of Kik/WhatsApp Messenger, which have big problems on my current device (WP7) with regards to notifications and multitasking. How do these apps work on Blackberry? Are notifications instant and in real time? And do these apps persist in the background?

I'm also a software engineer, and I usually develop on the devices I own...how viable is the blackberry platforms for development, is there much support in the community and how is the app submission process?

Thanks for any input you can provide!

-Diabhal
    05-13-12 07:20 PM
    So I got to play around with a blackberry for the first time the other day, and found that I really liked the experience, especially the trackpad. Over the last year or two I've used WP7, Android and iOS, and I'm very interested in getting a Bold 9900. Is it worth getting one?
    The BlackBerry Bold 9900 is a WONDERFUL device, and yes it is worth getting if you want to get a BlackBerry for the experience, get the 9900.

As a big user of Kik/WhatsApp Messenger, which have big problems on my current device (WP7) with regards to notifications and multitasking. How do these apps work on Blackberry? Are notifications instant and in real time? And do these apps persist in the background?
    I don't personally use either of those, but know people who do on BlackBerry's so I assume they work

I'm also a software engineer, and I usually develop on the devices I own...how viable is the blackberry platforms for development, is there much support in the community and how is the app submission process?
    BlackBerry Developer Blog

Go to the BlackBerry developer Blog

BlackBerry OS7 development, not so easy compared to BlackBerry 10 which is coming in the fall.