They rushed the OS out because they HAD too. Purposely leaving features out is laughable.

The clock was ticking and time was up.
    JeepBB, jpvj and NinjaB like this.
    02-02-14 09:17 AM
    I recently bought a Z10 for my cousins birthday present on Telus. I was going to sideload some apps for her before I gave it to her. Out of the box it was still on OS 10.0. I played around with it a bit and man has the OS come a LONG way. 10.2.1 blows it out of the water.

However I got thinking. Many super basic features we have in 10.2.1 was never on 10.0 on launch. For example battery percentage indicator, flashlight, larger pull down settings, screen brightness changer, resource manager, and the list goes on. Now I'm no developer but to me a battery percentage indicator is probably pretty easy to put in, and would not of caused further delay. However BlackBerry purposely didn't put these features in so developers could make battery percentage indicator apps, flashlight apps and so forth to inflate the number of apps in BlackBerry World. I mean think about it. If BlackBerry gave us 10.2.1 features in the beginning then I would never have downloaded or searched for at least 20 apps I had on my phone.

So BlackBerry purposely half baked 10.0 to provide lots of room for developers to fill consumer need, this pushing up app count. What do you guys think?

Posted via CB10
    I think they built the operating system from scratch using QNX. It was expected to have issues with it.
    02-02-14 09:40 AM
    OP, respectfully, what you describe is basically "shooting themselves a bullet in the feet".
    I can't believe this might be possible.
    propeller10, eldricho and bungaboy like this.
    02-02-14 12:40 PM
    I have never met a piece of software yet that did not get updated!

On my awesome BlackBerry Z30
    02-02-14 12:54 PM