Hey everyone

I am new to using a MAC so any help is great.

I am trying to connect my rogers blackberry bold via usb cable to a macbook to surf the net. I can not seem to figure out how to do it.

Any suggestions?
    Thanks
    02-09-10 09:58 AM
    It takes software to make the connection.

One popular application is Tether (previously TetherBerry). It installs a client on both the BlackBerry and your computer to provide the internet connection.

The latest version of Windows BlackBerry Desktop Manager also includes a tether feature. It does not need a seperate BlackBerry client.

BlackBerry Desktop Manger is available in a Mac version, I don't know if it also supports tethering.

The next factor to consider is your Rogers data plan. If you have, at least, the 500 Mb plan, it is practical to consider tethering. Do not even think of tethering one of the message only plans. If it works, you will be paying $10 Mb for data.
    02-09-10 10:02 AM
    thanks for your reply.
    I just downloaded the new Mac version of desktop manger. I can not seem to figure out how to set it up though. I also have 6 gigs of data with rogers which i hope is enough.

02-09-10 02:37 PM
    6gigs should be enought for browsing web and checking email. not sure about downloading files =]
    02-09-10 02:42 PM
    It doesn't take software. I do it via bluetooth. Google around, there ARE instructions (sorry I'm at school right now)
    02-09-10 03:03 PM
    It should be noted that the usage of Bluetooth effectively limits the potential connection speed of tethering.
    Last edited by shinkodachi; 02-09-10 at 03:25 PM.
    02-09-10 03:20 PM
    it should also be noted that tether (the app) doesnt work on mac via USB if u have desktop manager installed. (i think we have all waitied long enough for a rim desktop manager solution and shouldnt be forced to uninstall it)