Yes, and that is also precisely why what BlackBerry is doing is extremely problematic to the reputation of their brand...do they want people to start seeing their security products the same way? After all, did they not mainly get to their "secure software" pivot by essentially re-branding WatchDox, AdHoc, etc. lol...

Posted via BlackBerry Priv STV100-1
    Over the years Microsoft has done the very same thing: they seem to be still operating not too badly!
    Years ago, in Canada, Petro-Canada became a chain by purchasing someone else's line of gas stations and re-branding. They're huge in Canada now.

It's a workable strategy and not to be sneered at - if you can pull it off and integrate it successfully, works fine.

I program for a living. I almost NEVER code a program from scratch. On a smaller scale I am doing what BB has done: find some existing piece of code that's 80% of what I need and then refine it to give the end result. Why keep re-inventing the wheel?
    10-17-16 09:26 AM
    After using the DTEK50 for a couple of months, it seems very solid. No flimsy buttons, no rattles, pieces are evenly fitted well together. Screen image quality is excellent, and the cameras take great pictures for a mid range device. All and all, it looks nice and doesn't feel cheap.
    Which is in a way the whole problem for Android OEM's... everyone is using the same parts building the same designs. One of my kids friends has a BLU phone... didn't look or feel like what I expected of a sub $100 phone. How does anyone differentiate themselves, and how do the keep from having their price undercut by the next new Android phone - released two weeks later (as there is always a new phone being released).

Do think BlackBerry's software package is one way to do this, just not sure that price adder over the generic TCL phones, was seen as that much of a value by the general market.